Blog Tour: The Woman Who Upped and Left (an easy take on a dessert classic)

This is certainly one of the most interesting blog tours I’ve ever taken part in. To celebrate Fiona Gibson’s newest release, The Woman Who Upped and Left, we were asked (or possibly even challenged) to create a recipe from the book. My pulse raced when I opened the email that contained the recipe we were given to try out. My little girl and I enjoy cooking and baking (although our culinary skills are limited – I’d love to be able to say we are Masterchefs, but that might be a slight exaggeration). When I saw that our recipe was Crème Brûlée, I recoiled. Don’t get me wrong, I love to eat this tasty dessert, but never thought I’d make it myself. I had seen too many TV shows, were Crème Brûlées curdled, resembled scrambled eggs, were too runny or the like. Oh well, the challenge was set. I was slightly more confident when I read the tagline underneath the recipe: “a super-easy take on the posh custard”. That sounded much better!

Creme brulee back Creme Brulee front

And here my finished result. Not too shabby for a first attempt, I think. I slightly burned the sugar on the outer corners, but shhh – no one will notice.

image

About the book

Forget about having it all. Sometimes you just want to leave it all behind.

Audrey is often seized by the urge to walk out of her house without looking back – but she can’t possibly do that.

She is a single parent. She is needed. She has a job, a home, responsibilities…and a slothful teenage son’s pants to pick up.

But no one likes being taken for granted – Audrey least of all – so the time has come for drastic action. And no one’s going to stand in her way…

The laugh-out-loud bestseller is back with the only book to buy this Mother’s Day. Perfect for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is.

Blog tour banner

Heidi

4 Comments

    • It’s pretty innovative, isn’t it. I like writing reviews, posting guest posts or interviews, but this really was something special :-).

    • I thought the same, Shaz and was super excited when I received the email giving me all the info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.